Cwmaman Primary School


‘Success is to do our best’


Interactive Bar

Google Search
Google Translate
Log in

The New Curriculum

A New Curriculum for Wales


A new curriculum for Wales is being developed with education professionals across Wales.


Schools will have some flexibility in determining how and when they approach the teaching of the new curriculum. The Welsh Government ambition is that by September 2022 settings and schools will be using the new curriculum to underpin teaching and learning for children and young people aged 3-16.

A New Curriculum for Wales

4 Purposes

The 4 purposes will be at the heart of the new curriculum. They will be the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum to support all children and young people to be:

  • ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives.
  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work.
  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world.
  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.

The Core Purposes - Our character journey

This is a helpful video which tells you a little bit about the 4 core purposes and the journey we have been on to create characters to represent them.

Key Elements

The new curriculum will include:

  • 6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3 to 16.
  • 3 cross curricular responsibilities: Literacy, Numeracy and Digital Competence.
  • progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16.
  • achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point.


The curriculum will be organised into 6 Areas of Learning and Experience:

  • Expressive arts.
  • Health and Well-being.
  • Humanities (including RE which should remain compulsory to age 16).
  • Languages, Literacy and Communication (including Welsh, which should remain compulsory to age 16).
  • Mathematics and Numeracy.




Our pupils introduce you to our 4 Characters